current
older
guestbook
e-mail
diaryland
RP Designs

2003-04-04 - 3:23 p.m.
Empty buildings

Today I walked to Subway to get a little something for lunch. The Subway is in a building that used to house a McDonald's, too, and it looks soooo desolate around there. There are some trees that are flowering, and they're beautiful, but then everything else is overgrown!

On my way back home, I walked through a courtyard that used to be a mall of sorts. I could see a sign for a furniture store, and I'm pretty sure there used to be a commissary and/or exchange in the group of buildings. It makes me sad to see all of this stuff closed down, Barber's Point being part of military-wide base closings during Clinton's presidency. I'm hoping that with all of the military families they're moving back into housing here, they'll consider re-opening a bigger commissary! We have one on base, but it's so small, and the selection there is so limited! Most of the time, you're lucky to even FIND what you're looking for in stock!

I'm not complaining, though, I know how lucky we are that Mike is on shore duty here in Hawaii! Not only the *being in* Hawaii, but also the fact that Mike isn't on a ship out in the Gulf somewhere! Sure, carriers are safe places to be, comparatively, but I'd still be worried. I'm also glad, too, that the girls don't have to do without their Daddy for months on end anymore!

I'm praying for all the members of our military who are serving in the Middle East, that the war is over soon and they can go back to their families safely! Thank you all for sacrificing for us....from a very grateful and proud Navy wife!

last - next

Sign My Tag Board

Name

Site

Message