current
older
guestbook
e-mail
diaryland
RP Designs

2003-07-30 - 8:19 a.m.
Ron McKinney 1942-2003

This past weekend was really a hard one. My uncle Ron, who had been diagnosed with a brain tumor a couple of months ago, passed away.

It's still so unreal...I guess because I didn't get to attend services for him, and also because he seemed so *alive* the last time I saw him...that was last Easter, when I was catching a flight from Nashville to Chicago.

Sending flowers hardly seemed fitting...Uncle Ron was responsible for talking my mom into letting me get my drivers' license when I did. And when I had the girls, he just so adored them, bringing over bags of animal crackers wrapped in Christmas paper when we'd visit during the holidays. Thank God he'd had the chance to see and get to know two of his own grandchildren before he passed away.

I can't even begin to say how much I'm going to miss him. He and my mom had SO many stories to tell about when they were young, growing up on my Mamaw and Papaw's farm. They were the youngest two, three years apart, so they pretty much had the run of the place. Ron married his high school sweetheart, too...that's my Aunt Joyce. I know all of this has been hard on her, too, and I pray for comfort for her and my two cousins.

I know time will pass, and the pain will ease. For now, I've got so many memories to smile about, and it's also a great comfort to me that he's no longer suffering. I can't remember the last time I told him how much he meant to me, and how much I loved him, but I hope he knew just how precious he was to me.

I won't say *Goodbye* to my Uncle Ron, though, I'll say *I'll see you later*.

last - next

Sign My Tag Board

Name

Site

Message