current
older
guestbook
e-mail
diaryland
RP Designs

2003-08-12 - 11:00 p.m.
Brush Fires

I tell ya, it seems that lately, all we've seen are sporadic brush fires! I'm just glad they haven't been close enough to us to do any damage, but still...it's scary to live in such a dry area!

Yesterday morning, there was a small fire just down the street, where there was only empty field and kiawe (mesquite) trees. By last night, the fire had started up again, and spread just a little past where it was before! It was scary for sure, but they quickly got it under control. I don't know what they could do to help alleviate the problem, since we're already on voluntary water conservation. It's rained maybe 2 or 3 times since we've been here...other than that, we've had the occasional sprinkle. It's like a desert on this side of the island!

Other than witnessing nature's cookout on a grand scale, I've been reading Kate Remembered, Katharine Hepburn's bio. Wow, what a read! It took me a while to get into it, but it's moving right along now! It's great to have a nice place to read, too...the back porch! There are no flies there now, since we screened it in, so it's soooo wonderful to go back there and have a cup of coffee in the morning, and read the paper! What a great way to start the day!

So, Kate Remembered is a great book, about one of the greatest actresses of our time. It makes me want to rent some of her movies...although, from what I've read, not the early ones!! She was once considered *box office poison* when she first started her film career, I can't believe that! Still, though, given the limited selection I'm sure the rental places have, I'll be willing to settle for any one of them!

last - next

Sign My Tag Board

Name

Site

Message