current
older
guestbook
e-mail
diaryland
RP Designs

2004-04-20 - 9:24 a.m.
Interlaken...our own little slice of Heaven!

OH, wow, I just can't even come up with adequate words to describe Cory's and my birthday weekend in Lake Geneva!! Vicki and Jen TRULY went out of their way to make sure EVERY moment was as special as it could be for us!! For that, I thank them, and Cory hit the proverbial nail on the head when she said she felt as if she couldn't BEGIN to repay what they did for us, with the massages, and awesome food, scenery and company!

Saturday, when V and I drove out to Cory's, getting to see The Little Guy just made my day! Getting to see him and hold him makes me giggle! We all four piled into Jen's van with our stuff (I won't mention that I had the biggest bag of all, hehehe!)and hit the road. On the way, we saw a scrapbook store that Cory was telling us about, so we stopped. They had a great selection of stuff, and it was fun looking around.

It was so funny, I told everyone that that was my first time in Wisconsin, and we stopped at the Wisconsin sign and took my pic, hehe! Little did I know that Wisconsin would prove to be totally wonderful!

Let me just say that Lake Geneva is SO cute....such a quaint little place! Sort of expensive, too, though, as is to be expected in a *touristy* kind of town. It reminded me a lot of Gatlinburg, with the cute little shops up and down the streets. The weather was perfect, and we strolled around a bit before we went to a place called Popeye's for lunch. The food there was awesome, and Vicki and Jen sneaked and had them to bring out a birthday dessert for us, hehe! Throughout the whole restaurant, they played the Rocky theme, had a flashing white light in our area, then they brought out a wine bottle with a huge sparkler in it, and a nice sized serving of strawberry shortcake, yummmm!!

So, on to Interlaken! Let me just say that this place is SO AWESOME, although the decor is sorta 70's-ish, it's still a charming place! I'm totally NOT complaining!

After we checked in, we went to our room and opened birthday gifts, hehe. Boy, was I surprised to find out that Cory had gotten ME a pedicure, just as I had gotten HER one, too!! Cory also gave me a bottle of OPI "Aphrodite's Pink Nightie" nail polish, and a "Totally Country" CD, both of which I LOVE! She also made me a beautiful card, hehe! Jen gave me some CUTE stamps, very pretty paper, and some colored buttons...all of which I KNOW I'll be using often!! V had already given me SO much, and done SO much for my birthday already, but she still made me a VERY PRETTY card and gave me a coupon good for one set of Stampin' Up stamps of my choice!!

Saturday night, we went to dinner in the dining room there at Interlaken, and the food was SUPERB! I had a top sirloin steak cooked medium rare, and it was cooked to perfection! V, Cory, and Jen liked what they had, too, which made the experience even MORE enjoyable! It was totally over the top when they brought out slices of chocolate chip cheesecake for Cory and me with a candle in each one, and the guy playing piano in the restaurant that night announced it was our birthdays and played a song for us! Heck, I was happy just hearing that song from Somewhere in Time, giggle!

I love getting to spend time getting to know my three best friends better, and Saturday was no exception! We played the cutest game, at Cory's suggestion. It was the M&M Game, and basically you get a handful of M&M's, then going from person to person, they pick one color and there are certain things that go with each one. Like, if I got a yellow one, I would have to tell everyone something they don't know about me....and so on and so on. It was great hearing stories from each of them, and we had a great time giggling!

After we ate, we scoped out the gift shop and happened upon the game room. How fun that was! V and Cory played Ms. Pac Man and did very well! I played, too, but didn't do very well at all....hehe! Jen didn't play Ms. Pac Man, but you would have thought she was, the way she was getting all tense at watching V and Cory play!! It was so funny! What a great end to a great evening! We all went back to the room and played a little more of the M&M game, then went to sleep, very excitedly awaiting what was to come!

I was SO looking forward to Sunday morning, being that I've never had a pedicure, facial, massage or mineral bath before....and believe me, I wasn't disappointed!! It was so special, V, Cory, and Jen walking to the spa with me, since my pedicure was at 9 A.M. We took lots of pics and just had the GREATEST time!! We all came out of our various things just looking SO relaxed, it was truly funny! I felt as if I had been drugged after my facial and massage!! And my feet, ohhhhh, they're SO soft, and I LOVE my new color of polish, hehe! Thank you again, Cory Bo!!

We went to brunch after going back to the room to clean ourselves up and get dressed, and little did we know there was ANOTHER surprise in store! They brought out some YUMMY pieces of chocolate chip-covered chocolate mousse cake for Cory and me, again with candles and a song from the piano guy! Just when we thought it couldn't get any better, hehe!!

It was so sad, having our pampering birthday weekend to end, but I was TRULY grateful that we at least HAD the time together, ya know? Every moment from start to finish was PRICELESS, and just thinking about it all makes me smile!! Heck, we got to go to Starbucks TWICE in one weekend, I count myself VERY fortunate!!

I'm so very thankful on so many levels, that I have such beautiful, thoughtful friends!! They've come to mean so much more to me with each passing day, and they are truly my heroes! I love you dearly, Cory, V, and Jen, thank you SO MUCH for the beautiful memories we added to our already extensive list!

last - next

Sign My Tag Board

Name

Site

Message