current
older
guestbook
e-mail
diaryland
RP Designs

2005-04-18 - 3:02 p.m.
Happy Birthday to my Madre!

Today is my Madre's birthday! I tried to call her on my cell on the way to work this morning, but got her answering machine. Pout. Maybe I can get hold of her later....
The girls and I call her Madre because I started calling her Madre when I was taking high school Spanish, and it sort of stuck. And, when Maddy and Rachel came along, I couldn't see calling her "Grandma" or "Mamaw" (though my nephew does, but that's them), so she's Madre to all three of us!
So, today was the first day in a LONG time I did the elliptical at the gym. It was tough, I tell ya! I think maybe having my own music might help things along, but I know for SURE that I can't read while I'm doing the elliptical! I didn't even do weights today since I was just SO worn out! I'm glad I did it, though, it's a VERY necessary step toward getting back to the size I want to be, especially with warm weather coming for good soon!
One thing that really shocked me was having to put my weight into the machine....ugh! I don't think I've EVER weighed that much at any other point in my life, I suppose that's what reaching a certain age and a slowing metabolism can do for you.
This weekend was WONDERFUL.....we went to dinner at IHOP on Friday (because my first choice, Leona's, STILL wasn't open yet!), two hockey games on Saturday, lunch/dinner at Chili's (as well as being serenaded by the WHOLE RESTAURANT!), and just basically relaxing yesterday. I got some goodies, too, for my birthday. My mom sent me some Birkenstocks (I've never owned a pair, but I tell ya, they may look sorta funky, but they are SO comfy!), V and Stephen got me Season 2 of Friends, some foam alphabet stamps and scrapbooking paint (as well as said dinner at IHOP and Chili's), and my dad sent me $40 ($1 for each year, hehe). Lee sent me a box of neat stuff, like "The Little Book of Stress", a movie trivia card game, a t-shirt that says, "Mullets Rule! Business in The Front, Party in The Back!" and some other little gifts....as well as a re-gifted Nascar Coca-Cola mug set, hehe! She put a note on top that said, "This just reinforces the graceful art of regifting!", or something along those lines. I'll probably re-gift it in return to my sister, just for laughs. My friend Jan (who I used to work at "Dead Lob" with 'lo these many years ago!) sent me a gift card for Bath and Body Works....you KNOW that's going to be redeemed SOON! I SO can't wait to get home to try out my new stamps and paint....I've got Thank You cards to make and a few ideas swimming around in my head. Now, let's see if they come out even CLOSE to what I imagine they'll be!

last - next

Sign My Tag Board

Name

Site

Message