current
older
guestbook
e-mail
diaryland
RP Designs

2002-04-11 - 5:10 a.m.
My *Pretend* Birthday

Can I just say, first of all, how EXCITED I was that the Wolves wonnnn??? Mannnn, what a heart attack I almost had! Of course, everyone else was in bed at the time, so I couldn't jump up and down and scream...bummer! I was doubly bummed, too, because for some reason, the games broadcast on the 'Net aren't connecting for me lately!! I so need my fix, especially after the AWESOME time the Chicago girls and I had at the Wolves' game last Wednesday!! It's a day I won't soon forget!

It was my *pretend* birthday last Wednesday, more wonderful than any REAL birthday I've had, really! V, Jen, and Cory really made me feel so special...I got a BEAUTIFUL and yummmmmmyyy cake, and some very special gifts to open! From Cory, I got a *batik*-looking blue bathing suit cover(which fits me perfectly, and totally matches my bathing suit, wink!) with a beach towel for our upcoming Floriday trip! From V, I got a WOLVES JERSEY, which is now one of my most treasured possessions, aside from my TN jersey, giggle! I was BEYOND thrilled that Jen bought my ticket to the Wolves' game that evening, but little did I know there was more to it than that!

So, after all of the excitement, cake, and chili cheese fries, we go to the game. We went to what I thought were our seats, and they were wonderful, but the girls wanted to check out the seats down near the ice.....just to imagine what it would be like to sit there. Well, little did I know, they were up to something sneaky....I didn't suspect for a MOMENT that the seats TWO ROWS BACK FROM THE ICE were ours!! When we got down there, and they said *HAPPY BIRTHDAYYYY!*, it took me a bit to realize THAT WAS WHERE WE WERE SITTING!! I wanted to cry, I was so happy, and cry I did!! All I could do was hug Jen and cry, it seems! I quickly gained my composure, though, when V suggested we go find Skates to sign my brand-new jersey!!

Jen, Chrissy, and June had made birthday signs for me to hold up at the game....little did I know they'd pay off! After we got Skates' signature on my jersey and shirt, we went back to our seats to watch the players warm up, and hold up one of my signs for Maracle to see. It said, Hey Norm, could you *whip* up something special? It's my birthday! When he skated by and looked at it, I didn't expect much, but I had to do a double take when I saw him skating over after practice with a stick in his hand! He put it up over the glass for me to get, and I thought I'd FREAK when it got stuck! Luckily, he turned back around and pushed it over for us until WE HAD IT!! Now, see, V had said that she had a dream that Maracle gave us his stick, when we held up birthday signs....did she see that one coming, or WHAT?? I told her that if it ever happened, the stick would be hers, no question about that. So, I kept my word and gave her Maracle's stick...why? Because out of the four of us, she's the UNDISPUTED BIGGEST fan of the Wolves, and she SO deserved it! I know that if it had been something like that from a Tennessee game, she would have done the same for me. Besides, I could so NOT have seen myself lugging a hockey stick on the flight home!

Sigh. It's so hard to believe that all of that happened a WEEK ago! It's just beyond comprehension, how INCREDIBLE it was....I don't think my *real* birthday could be any better!

Hehe, so I've gotten ahead of myself on summing up my incredible week...but that day will ALWAYS stand out in my mind! Thank you SO MUCH, V, Jen, and Cory, for making my *pretend* birthday so SPECIAL, smile!

last - next

Sign My Tag Board

Name

Site

Message