current
older
guestbook
e-mail
diaryland
RP Designs

2002-09-11 - 5:41 a.m.
A Really Bad Chicken Biscuit...

...that's what I was eating a year ago today, when the WTC and Pentagon attacks happened. I had just gotten back from taking Rachel to school, and getting some breakfast, and was settling in to talk to the Illinois girls, when they started talking about a plane flying into one of the WTC towers. I thought, surely this is nothing...the WTC had been bombed before, to no avail. This time it was different, though. From what I could see on my fuzzy TV reception (thanks, cable, for going out THAT day! Grrr!!), there was a great deal of smoke coming from the tops of the WTC towers. It was so frustrating to not be able to see what was going on!! I didn't actually see what happened clearly until a few days later.

Anyway, I could make out the towers collapsing...it was like a really bad dream...I mean, who would DO something like that? Then, to find out the smaller details...families getting calls from those on those doomed planes, the bravery of those who tried to overpower the terrorists on board, and the most chilling fact of all: these terrorists took flying lessons here in the US, and at least one of them got a drivers' license here in Virginia!! It was MORE unnerving to see that the Pentagon had been attacked, too...the center of our military!

A year later, I can say that the events of 9/11 have made me appreciate even more the family and friends I have. Life can be over in the blink of an eye...why not make the best of every minute you have? I want to try to show my family and friends, every day, just how much they mean to me! Also, I want to be more caring to those I DON'T know...to not judge people unfairly, but to try to understand where they're coming from.

I also appreciate more the beauty of my girls' laughter....the sky as the sun rises, and the wonderful array of colors as the sun sets....having a roof over my head and clothes on my back....being able to ride my bike to the gym in the cool of the morning....all these things, and others I don't have room to mention.

I have YET to find a really GOOD chicken biscuit, though....any suggestions?

My thoughts and prayers are with those who lost someone in the attacks, whether they be someone who worked at the WTC or Pentagon, for the NYPD or NYFD, or just someone who was in the wrong place at the wrong time. I mourn for them all. God Bless America!

last - next

Sign My Tag Board

Name

Site

Message