current
older
guestbook
e-mail
diaryland
RP Designs

2001-09-11 - 5:04 p.m.
Just horrible

I'm just baffled by what's gone on today! Just when you think "that kind of thing can't happen here", it does!

It all seems so surreal! All the bases around here are on Threatcon Delta, and base housing is closed off by concrete barriers! There's only one gate open for us to go into, and even then, they're inspecting EVERY vehicle that comes through.

Earlier today, just after I had heard about the terrible attacks in N.Y. and D.C., I went out to take Rachel's lunch money to her. I was surprised to see that all was "business as usual", no mention of what was going on at all. Well, I shouldn't have expected anything more, since little kids don't understand situations like we're in.

Anyway, I headed back home and found that housing was completely blocked off, and they had an hour wait to get back onto base! I was told that I should go get a cold drink somewhere, because of the wait....and they didn't have to tell me twice! I took off down the interstate, called Jen, tried to call V, then went thrift storing. I didn't find anything that I couldn't live without, so I just basically cruised around until closer to time to get the girls.

I'm really still in shock about the whole thing....it's just so hard to believe! My MIL called, totally worried, because of the area we're in. The only thing I'm concerned about is the welfare of those families touched directly by this tragedy, and those who were injured or killed. I heard earlier about some people who were throwing themselves out the windows, over 100 ft. up, to escape. That's just unimaginable! I pray that those innocent people who were killed knew some measure of peace in their final moments.

last - next

Sign My Tag Board

Name

Site

Message