current
older
guestbook
e-mail
diaryland
RP Designs

2001-11-25 - 5:58 a.m.
Beware....random thoughts!

I can't believe it's a MONTH until Christmas!!! Time to start giving serious thought to shopping! That's really no big deal, since shopping is like LIFE to me! It's just that I've found myself in my usual situation....waiting until the last minute to do Christmas shopping! Just watch....I'll probably be out with the last-last minute shoppers on Christmas Eve!! Hehe!

Our Thanksgiving was wonderful....the turkey breast came out really juicy from being cooked all night on low heat! Ohhhh, how awesome it smelled when we got up Thursday morning! We had three friends over, which is okay with me...that much less leftovers to put away! I made turkey breast, dressing, sweet potato casserole, mashed potatoes, green beans with shelly beans and bacon, homemade rolls, and cranberry sauce. For dessert, we had pumpkin pie and mincemeat pie....yummm! So far, I'm the only one who has eaten the mincemeat pie, but I'm so NOT complaining!!

I used gravy in a jar this year, from Boston Market....ugh! Can I just say that it smelled horrendous? Guess I won't be cheating on the gravy again next year!

I love to make a lot of food for Thanksgiving, it just reminds me so much of home, and of the Thanksgiving FEASTS we used to have at my grandparents' house! No kidding...we used to have a TABLE FULL of food, then a separate place for all of the desserts! My grandmother would be a nervous wreck until everyone finished eating....I guess that's where I get it! I'm the same way on Thanksgiving, when I'm cooking....DON'T BOTHER MEEEEEE!! I wasn't so bad this year, though....getting some things done the day before sure helped!

Mike has been really great....giving me some time to relax while he and the girls clean! I don't know how to act when I don't have to do EVERYTHING....I could get used to it! I've really found it hard to truly RELAX, though, I always think about what I could be doing....like laundry and straightening up! It's just become a habit, as much as I hate to admit! I so DON'T LIKE to do housework, so that's a stretch for me, to say that it's become second nature! I'm going to have to get over my being spoiled today, though, since Mike has duty!

Mike starts second-half *Thanksgiving* leave tomorrow, but I honestly don't know what we're going to do! Probably a lot of hanging around and finding cheap things to do, since we won't be able to go home. We just shelled out almost $400 on repairs to the Bug, so it's going to be a bit slow until payday! At least we're not making a car payment every month, though, that's a good thing! Now...if we could just sell the No-Va! Mike has someone who's interested in buying it....let's hope it pans out! It would be nice to be able to take it off our insurance, and to not worry about jumping through hoops of fire to get it registered every year...not to mention the REPAIRS!

last - next

Sign My Tag Board

Name

Site

Message