current
older
guestbook
e-mail
diaryland
RP Designs

2002-05-31 - 8:46 p.m.
Goodbye, Eric

Sheesh....can you believe I've been working on this entry for THREE DAYS now? I so want to word this entry as I feel it....bear with me.

I just found out last Saturday that Eric Holzem passed away on May 13th. He was only 11 years old, and had been battling brain cancer very bravely for three years. Not only the cancer itself, but the numerous surgeries to go along with it, and whatever else I can't even fathom going through and coming out intact.

I've had such a hard time trying to put my finger on just what I feel. I feel angry, because this dreadful disease took Eric at such a young age. I feel sad, because I can only imagine what he could have been, what promise his life held. I guess I feel comforted most of all, though, because Eric's finally found peace.

When we visited Eric and his family last year, his mom told me that Eric was a gifted student, just like Maddy. I guess that's why Eric's passing touches me so.....you just never know what's in store for you in life. Enjoy every minute to the fullest!

I pray that Eric's parents and brothers find the strength to go on about their lives in a somewhat normal way. His mom is collecting contributions already for their Relay For Life 2003 team, in Eric's name http://www.angelfire.com/fl5/ericsfriends2003/. Please check the site out, and give to their cause, if you're so inclined.

last - next

Sign My Tag Board

Name

Site

Message