current
older
guestbook
e-mail
diaryland
RP Designs

2002-08-20 - 3:51 p.m.
Slow changes

Last week, I went for a walk around the block with my mom, around the neighborhood where I grew up. As we walked, I thought of the families who had lived there over the years...the Thompsons, Brocks, Guttridges, Pierces, Derryberrys, Yacks, Hutchins....so many more, too. It made me sad, in a way, since the neighborhood has changed so much over the past 33 years. We moved there when I was 3, and now my mom is one of the residents who have lived there on her street the longest.

I've seen the trees that started out as saplings become great shade trees...shared sadness when two of the families on our block lost loved ones too early....had wishful thoughts that I could be grown up. I suppose that's all part of life, though. Change happens, sometimes so that you don't realize it! It's definitely sneaked up on me.

Sorry, I didn't mean for this entry to be so *introspective*...I'll try to lighten it up a bit!

We had a great weekend tubing the river! My FIL's place there is truly rustic...no phone, no TV, no radio...nothing but going outside and hanging out! It was definitely good for us, but man, were we BUSHED! I was tired to the point of being grouchy once we got here to my MIL's! Needless to say, we went to bed early that night.

I'm really looking forward to V's visit here, too! There's so much I want to show her, but since we only have the weekend, Gatlinburg will have to do. Not like that's a bad thing, though...G'burg in MY book is totally awesome! We're going to do some hiking, too, and that should be fun! And of course, we'll have to make some stops at the Marble Slab ice cream place...yummm!! It's going to be a totally awesome time, but I so need to get more film! I've got four rolls left out of eight, giggle!

last - next

Sign My Tag Board

Name

Site

Message